Reflections on Residency & Learning · Rotation Objectives

Residency Goals and Objectives

I am so excited to reflect on this post at the end of the year to assess if I met all of my goals and objectives this year! I know that this year will be a huge learning curve, and that I will have many personal and professional learning opportunities.

Goal/Learning Objective #1: To efficiently and thoroughly workup a patient in less than 2 hours, identify all major drug therapy problems and develop a care plan with appropriate recommendations which are evidence-based (and alternatives) and monitoring parameters.

How to reach/achieve this:

  • Being proactive at working up patients at each rotation, and aiming to work up as many as I can (while maintaining the quality and time necessary for each one). By doing this I can practice doing patient work ups for numerous patients, conditions and subsequently various DTPs. By doing this I believe I will encounter numerous gaps in my thought process of my work up and subsequently can learn and practice the lessons I learn.
  • By actively seeking feedback from mentors and preceptors regarding my process of working up patients and identifying areas for improvement
  • By adapting a work up form to each rotation/patient as necessary and appropriate to:
    • Eliminate errors of forgetting to collect data
    • Increase my efficiency of documenting information
    • Create a template that provides an intuitive flow to complement my thought process.

Goal/Learning Objective #2: To efficiently perform head-to-toe assessments for both workups and follow-ups. 

How to reach/achieve this:

  • By familiarizing myself with the common sign and symptoms, lab values, vital signs, imaging results, etc. associated with various disease states and how these relate to each organ system.
  • When encountering a new disease state (which I predict will be very common, especially in pediatrics) use the head-to-toe assessment to think of how the new disease changes the patient’s parameters (and how will this relate to my patient’s drug therapy)
  • To follow up each patient using head-to-toe and present my follow-ups to my preceptor in a head-to-toe manner.

Goal/Learning Objective #3: To critically appraise literature to formulate recommendations for my patients as well as answer drug information questions.

  • Through participating in journal clubs, and make notes of any differences between those facilitated by learners (e.g. OEE students, residents, pharmD students) vs. staff pharmacists.
    • And if any differences are noted decide which style/differences I want to implement when I facilitate a journal club
  • By seeking insight and guidance from my mentors and preceptors, and learning their individual processes for appraising primary literature
  • By developing a strong understanding of the differences between the pediatric and adult populations in terms of pharmacokinetics, physiology and developmental stages, etiology and clinical presentation of a given disease state and using these factors to help me decide whether or not I can use adult data/guidelines/RCTs and extrapolate to a pediatric patient.
Leave a Reply

