Procedure Logs

C3.5 R3(d): Prepare and facilitate a journal club to pharmacists

This week was my second journal club of residency, and I think it went well! I presented a journal club on “Mandatory Closure Versus Nonintervention for Patent Ductus Arteriosus in Very Preterm Infants” to the pediatrics/MFM and NICU pharmacists at SMH. This article was very interesting especially as I am currently following a PDA patient in the NICU. Having read this article changed the way I perceived the care of my patient.

I found the experience useful to practice my skills I gained from my previous journal club. I found that I was able to make my handout concise (from the get-go) and was much more critical of the article with less prompting from my preceptor. I believe I made progress from my previous journal club and I had positive reception from the audience!

See attached for my handout and the original study: HANDOUT: mandatory-closure-vs-nonintervention ARTICLE: mandatory-closure-vs-nonintervention (2016)

For my next journal clubs I hope to work on:

  1. Adding in context of what the current gaps are in the literature
  2. Slowing down the introduction and having more audience engagement in the beginning
  3. Adding in context of what “our” site does in context of the study
  4. Remember to tailor the journal club to my audience (are they all pharmacists in the field I’m presenting on (e.g. NICU), or would they benefit from some additional explanation of the disease state/controversy?)

I’m looking forward to my next opportunity to keep practicing my critical appraisal skills (potentially with a new type of study – e.g. meta-analysis)

Leave a Reply

