Rotation Objectives

Child and Adolescent Psychology Objectives

After a month of babies, I am moving to a very different patient care setting… Child and Adolescent Psychology! In this rotation I hope to practice the skills I have gained in previous rotations and continue to complete head-to-toe monitoring plans and create patient-specific goals of therapy. I hope to continue to work on ensuring I have been thorough and diligent in coming up with alternatives and using that to justify my recommendation. I believe the pharmacist’s role in mental health is likely profound, given all the nuances of pharmacotherapy in this population, I am excited to explore this role in this rotation!

My rotation specific objectives include:

  1. To be able to be well-versed in the nuances (PK, PD, pharmaceutics, etc.) of the therapeutic alternatives within the major psychiatric drug categories (e.g. antipsychotics, antidepressants, mood stabilizers, stimulants, anxiolytics and hypnotics)
  2. To interpret antipsychotic/mood stabilizer drug levels (e.g. VPA, lithium, etc.)
  3. To participate in co-teaching with the R6 psychiatry resident on rotation with me (and hopefully learn a lot about the diagnostics side of things as well as all things mental health pharmacy)
  4. Become more familiar with the special authority process as it applies to antipsychotics, mood stabilizers, antidepressants for a specific patient(s).
Leave a Reply

