Reflections on Residency & Learning

Teaching Rotation Reflection

This was a very interesting week learning all about how to teach.

This week I learned what type of learner I am: a multi-modal learner with a higher strength for visual and aural learning. This means I need to see diagrams, flow charts, and tables and hear the information for it to sink in. Unsurprisingly (for me), I scored poorly on read/write. I have had suspicions that that would be the case, as I always seemed to read information and forget it the next minute. However, if I heard it, I could remember it forever. This was a good exercise for me to remember what learning strategies work best for me, and which strategies are an inefficient use of time.

This week I also learned what kind of teacher I am. It was reaffirmed to us that this was not the type of teacher that I will always be, but rather just a reflection of what kind of teacher I am now. I scored highly for the “all-round flexible and adaptable teacher” and the “student-centered, sensitive teacher,” and scored low for the “one-off teacher.” What this means to me, is that I am sensitive and flexible to my students needs, but need time to prepare in order to be comfortable to teach. This rings true for me as I feel like the knowledge piece is missing, and thus I truly feel like I am flying by the seat of my pants if I do not prepare.

This week we spent time learning about learning objectives and how to describe and apply them (me trying to punny…) to learning objectives we have received thus far in our residency. Some resources I used included Bloom’s Taxonomy Verb List to help me find the appropriate verb for the objective I was aiming for.

This week we also learned about what teaching settings exist and the pros/cons between them:

  Pros Cons Strategies to engage
Small (e.g. seminar, tutoring, precepting, patient counselling, journal club, case presentations) N <8-10 Discussion, participation, can adapt teaching to learner’s learning style, gauge the learner’s understanding, build rapport with audience If there is no participation or over participation Games, Role play, Hands or props, Talking sticks, Prizes, Give time to pause and think for the learners, Teach through a captivating story
Medium (e.g. CAPS, seminars, academic half-days) N<25 Can have discussion, can build rapport with audience, is somewhat efficient Can have minimal discussion

Challenging to cater to all learner’s learning style

 

Random participation (point to audience member(s)), Snowball (write down), Know audience’s names and call them out to participate, Videos, diagrams
Large (e.g. lecture, grand rounds) N > 25-30 Efficient

Can discuss a general topic

Have to cater to all learning styles, or not be able to cater to all (and subsequently lose the focus of some learners), Performance anxiety, Can have minimal/no discussion Walk around the lecture hall, move around, Have an engaging voice (not monotone), Have an engaging story to tie the learning point

Overall, this was a very enjoyable week and helped me identify some areas where I would like to improve in order to be an effective teacher/preceptor.

Leave a Reply

