Presentations · Procedure Logs

C3.5 R2: Prepare and deliver educational seminar to pharmacists

During my ID rotation, I had a very interesting patient with MSSA toxic shock syndrome. In learning about this patient’s condition I was blown away by the severity that the patient presented as, and subsequently the team was very urgently throwing many antibiotics at him to help prevent mortality and significant morbidity. The decision to add linezolid for toxin-suppression was the focus of my presentation. The literature was very much low quality, as I only had 1 case report and several in-vitro studies. However, this was an interesting challenge to be able to interpret the in-vitro results to my patient. From a presentation standpoint I felt like I had improved in explaining difficult or unfamiliar concepts to my audience. Specifically with the in-vitro studies and their implication to my patient. For future presentations I hope to work on really slowing down. Although I was mindful (and successful) at slowing down in the first part of my presentation, I then decided to go in to hyperdrive and sped through the rest of it.

Overall this was an interesting case, and I was glad to have the opportunity to learn more about toxic shock and the evidence behind toxic suppressing agents such as clindamycin and linezolid.

See attached for my presentation: toxic-shock-presentation

Leave a Reply

