Procedure Logs

C3.5 R3(c): Demonstrate skill in the COACHING form of practice-based teaching

Today I had my TMP/SMX student join me for our 4th shadowing session! Today I made a concerted effort to coach my student. I spent the first half of our session teaching her about TLS (tumor lysis syndrome) and the different types of cancers seen in pediatrics. I also taught her how I counsel patients and she shadowed me giving a discharge counselling to a patient and their family. After teaching her about TLS and cancer I showed her one of my patient’s med profile and asked her to explain which med is for what based on what she had learned. It was very rewarding to teach her and see her be able to apply the information to a patient case. Having done modelling and coaching forms of teaching I can see the merit of doing both and the importance of incorporating coaching to ensure that the learner has an opportunity to practice the skills with guidance.

Leave a Reply

