Rotation Objectives

Cystic Fibrosis Objectives

I have been looking forward to this elective since before I got into residency. I have had an interest in CF for several years (having volunteered with Shinerama – a part of Cystic Fibrosis Canada throughout my undergrad). I am so fascinated by the care that is given to a CF patient, and I am curious by the role of the pharmacist for this group of patients. In my rotation I hope to achieve the following goals:

  1. To relate pharmacotherapeutics to patient-specific clinical findings to make appropriate, patient-specific drug therapy recommendations
  2. To become more proficient at triaging patients (and medical problems/DTPs)
  3. To describe cystic fibrosis co-morbidities (e.g. diabetes, arthropathy, liver disease, GERD) with regards to risk factors, pathophys, and treatment
  4. To describe the newborn screening process and the initial management of a CF patient upon diagnosis
  5. To practice justifying and defending my therapeutic recommendations directly to the health care team
  6. To describe the role of the CF pharmacist at BCCH and describe how they help CF patients “transition” to “adult-land”

 

Leave a Reply

