Academic Day Seminars

ADS – Pediatric HIV

This ADS was full of useful references including Carlo’s lecture slides to refer to. The ADS covered the history of HIV infection in children, the HIV life cycle, ARV options/considerations/benefits/risks in pediatrics, formulations, and adherence.** In speaking to the other peds residents who had done an HIV rotation at BCCH (Oak Tree Clinic) they really underlined for me how prevalent adherence issues are and how to help circumvent and alleviate them when possible.

This ADS will prove helpful to me as I enter my practice as when I have done rotations at the site I am going to work at I had several perinatal ?HIV transmission babies with ARV started and I am excited to be able to have a more thorough understanding of all the considerations and options to apply to my patients.

Leave a Reply

