Reflections on Residency & Learning

Adult Medicine Reflection

I really should title this end of residency reflection, but I imagine that should be its own post. However this rotation really did feel like the end of residency in many ways. During this rotation I was surprisingly relieved that my background knowledge of adult medicine from my degree hadn’t dissipated during the course of residency. I was able to pick up where I left off and add practical tidbits and clinical pearls and new data since I had graduated to my knowledge base. In this rotation I had the opportunity to attend rounds on my own and pick up more patients than I ever have, with even following the entire ward at times (so many humans!). But this was a great exercise in being able to truly assess and triage and prioritize patients effectively and efficiently.  Though this may be my last time with adults/geriatrics for the foreseeable future I am looking forward to applying all the skills I honed in on, and some of the knowledge bits to my future practice.

Leave a Reply

