Reflections on Residency & Learning · Residency Project

Project reflection

Data collection, ethics, and box plots, oh my!

I am one proud owner of the manuscript of: Relationship of limited sampling strategy and adverse effects of mycophenolate mofetil in pediatric renal transplant patients (RELATE).

This was a project and a part of residency I actually really enjoyed. I truly feel like I have gained such an appreciation for the topic and hope that the research I have conducted can help make meaningful changes in the peds SOT community. In terms of learning this project was full of it. I learned how to anticipate and try to stay ahead of things. I learned how to manage expectations and not get unnecessarily anxious when I’m months out from submitting a proposal to ethics. I learned how to make data collection more enjoyable (read: lots of breaks and snacks). I also felt like I gained an appreciation for the research process, how to submit to ethics, how to create a data collection form, how to write academic prose. I am very much excited for the next steps of my project…finding journals I could submit to and trying to get published! I was fortunate to have some wise and supportive coinvestigators who really encouraged me and gave me autonomy.

 

Leave a Reply

